Chicagoland Recap
Kyle Busch continues dominant season with his 5th win at Chicagoland Speedway.



Overton’s 400

Chicagoland Speedway – Joliet, Ill.

Sunday, July 1, 2018


Race Winner: Kyle Busch

Age: 33

Team: No. 18 – Skittles Red, White & Blue Toyota

Owner: Joe Gibbs Racing

Crew Chief: Adam Stevens


IN THE WORDS OF THE WINNER“I don’t know. I got really boxed in and got really slow. I tried to get all of it on those last couple of laps. (Kyle) Larson tried to pull a slider but didn’t quite complete it. He slid up into me and used me, and then I kind of used him a little bit in Turn 3 to come back for the victory. Great win for the Skittles Camry and all of these guys. We were horrible today. Absolutely horrendous. We just never gave up. It’s always good to make the most of the days and get to where we needed at the end. I was able to lead all of those laps. And get through the rest of the traffic. If you don’t like that kind of racing, don’t even watch.”


--       Kyle Busch on how the last lap of the race played out



  • Kyle Busch won the 18th annual Overton’s 400 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) race at Chicagoland Speedway on Sunday. For Busch, it was his 48th win in 479 career MENCS starts, including his fifth this year in 17 races. 


  • Those five wins are tied with Kevin Harvick for the most in MENCS this year and are tied for the second-most of his career in a season, trailing only the eight victories that he recorded in 2008.  It is the second straight year and third time in the last four seasons that Busch has won five times.


  • With both Busch and Harvick having collected five wins, it is only the fourth time in MENCS history that two drivers have amassed five wins in the first 17 races of a year, and the first time since 2010 (Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson).


  • For Busch, it was his 14th top-10 finish and 12th top-5 showing of 2018.


  • Today’s win was Busch’s second in 14 career MENCS starts at Chicago.


  • Kyle Larson was second while Kevin Harvick was third.  It was Larson’s fourth second-place finish of the year.  It was Harvick’s 14th top-10 finish and 13th top-5 showing in 17 races this year.  It was his 11th top-10 in the last 12 races. 


  • Aric Almirola won Stage 1 of the race while Kevin Harvick claimed Stage 2.


  • William Byron (20th) was the highest finishing rookie.


  • With wins to their credit this year, Austin Dillon, Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr., Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch and Joey Logano have clinched spots in the 2018 MENCS playoffs, which culminates with the Ford EcoBoost 400 championship race on Sunday, November 18 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.


  • In 13 career starts at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Kyle Busch has finished in the top-10 six times and the top-5 on three occasions.  This includes a victory in the 2015 Ford EcoBoost 400 when he claimed the first Cup title of his career.





  • Kyle Larson won the 18th annual Overton’s 300 NASCAR XFINITY Series (NXS) race on Saturday at Chicagoland Speedway.  It is his 10th victory in 105 career NXS starts.  It marks his second win in three NXS starts this year.


  • Kevin Harvick claimed second spot while NXS regular Cole Custer was third.


  • With wins to their credit this season, rookie Tyler Reddick, Ryan Preece, Christopher Bell and Justin Allgaier have clinched spots in the NXS playoffs, which concludes with the Ford EcoBoost 300 championship race on Saturday, November 17 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.





  • Brett Moffitt won the 10th annual Overton’s 225 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) race Friday night at Chicagoland Speedway.  It was Moffitt’s fourth victory in 24 career NCWTS starts.


  • It was Moffitt’s third win and sixth top-10 finish in 11 NCWTS races this year. 


  • Ben Rhodes was second while series points leader Johnny Sauter was third.   For Sauter, who has collected a series-best four wins this year, it was his 10th top-10 and top-5 finish in 11 races this year.  It also was his fourth top-3 finish in the last five races.


  • With wins this year, NCWTS regulars Johnny Sauter, Brett Moffitt, Noah Gragson and Justin Haley have secured spots in the NCWTS playoffs, which concludes with the Ford EcoBoost 200 championship race on Friday, November 16 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK