Tony Stewart Wins a Contender Boat

Looking for More Hardware: After winning last year's Ford 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway and a 25-foot Contender Boat, Tony Stewart looks to add an ESPY to his trophy case (photo courtesy: GETTY IMAGES SPORT)


Each year media giant ESPN hosts the ESPY Awards (Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly), which recognize individual and team athletic achievement and other sports-related performance. Three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Tony Stewart has been nominated in two categories -- Best Driver and Best Championship Performance.

Other nominees for Best Driver honors include four-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti, Formula 1 champion Sebastien Vettel and National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) champion Del Worsham.

“An ESPY is a prestigious award,” said track president Matthew Becherer. “Having one of NASCAR’s best represented is a testament to the teamwork and dedication needed to compete in NASCAR.  Last year, Jimmie Johnson won the ESPY for ‘Best Male Athlete’ and I think that Tony will be tough to beat, given his gritty performance throughout the NASCAR Chase For The Sprint Cup Series Championship culminating with a dramatic victory at Homestead-Miami Speedway.”

Stewart’s come-from-behind win is worthy of a Best Championship Performance selection. All five of Stewart's 2011 victories came during NASCAR's postseason, including a scintillating victory in the Ford 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway last November. For the first time in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series history, the championship ended in a draw. After passing 118 cars during the race, Stewart ended up tied with Carl Edwards in points at 2,403, but won the tiebreaker based on the number of victories, which included his season-ending win at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

The Ford 400 marked the first time since 1975 the eventual champion came from behind to win the championship by winning the final race of the season. Stewart's third championship puts him alongside NASCAR legends Cale Yarborough and Darrell Waltrip, who each are three-time champions. Stewart’s season titles came in 2002, 2005, and 2011.

Voting ends July 9 and winners will be announced July 11 in Los Angeles. Click on the following link to vote:

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Left Arrow
Right Arrow
  • Amkus logo
  • Baptist logo
  • Coke logo
  • Contender logo
  • Courtyard Marriott
  • imperial dade sponsor slider logo
  • Epic Hotel logo
  • FanVision logo
  • Ford logo
  • Gatorade logo
  • GEN Travel Solutions
  • Goodyear
  • Hampton Inn and Suites
  • Holiday Inn Express logo
  • Hotel Indigo
  • Hyatt Place
  • Key Largo logo
  • Miami International Airport logo
  • New Holland
  • NextEra
  • Quality Inn
  • Rabbit Coffee
  • Safety Kleen
  • Shulas
  • Sunoco
  • Tobacco Free Florida
  • trugreen logo
  • Visit Florida
  • We Can Do Print
You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035

© 2021 Homestead Miami Speedway


ISC Track Sites