Monster Energy NASCAR Cups Series Playoff Field is Set

MIAMI – The battle for NASCAR’s biggest trophy begins on Sunday, September 15 as the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) playoffs commence at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.


The 16-driver playoff field heats up in the desert and culminates at Homestead-Miami Speedway for the 18th consecutive year. The championship will be decided during the Ford EcoBoost 400 on Sunday, November 17.


In the postseason, four drivers will be eliminated from championship contention at the conclusion of each round. The 16 playoff drivers will still have to compete against the rest of the field throughout the 10-race postseason.


The field of playoff drivers consists of all four Joe Gibbs Racing drivers, including Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr. – who combined to win 12 races this season and hold the top three spots as the playoffs get underway this weekend.


Kyle Busch (2015), Kurt Busch (2004), Kevin Harvick (2014), Brad Keselowski (2012), Truex (2017) and reigning champion Joey Logano (2018) are hoping to capture their second Cup Series championship. If one of them conquer the title, they would join seven-time champion Jimmie Johnson as the only active drivers with multiple MENCS titles.


Below is the complete list of drivers who will vie for the right to be crowned the 2019 MENCS champion.


Driver Points Wins Team Manufacturer
Kyle Busch  2,045 4 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Denny Hamlin 2,030 4 Joe Gibbs Racing  Toyota
Martin Truex Jr. 2,029 4 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Kevin Harvick 2,028 3 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
Joey Logano 2,028 2 Team Penske Ford
Brad Keselowski 2,024 3 Team Penske Ford
Chase Elliott 2,018 2 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Kurt Busch 2,011 1 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
Alex Bowman 2,005 1 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Erik Jones 2,005 1 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Kyle Larson 2,005 0 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
Ryan Blaney 2,004 0 Team Penske Ford
William Byron 2,001 0 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Aric Almirola 2,001 0 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
Clint Bowyer  2,000 0 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
Ryan Newman 2,000 0 Roush Fenway Racing Ford


The following is the complete schedule for the MENCS playoffs.


Round of 16
Sep. 15  7:00 p.m. South Point 400 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Sep. 21 7:30 p.m. Federated Auto Parts 400 Richmond Raceway
Sep. 29 2:30 p.m. Bank of America Roval 400 Charlotte Motor Speedway Road Course
Round of 12
Oct. 6  2:30 p.m. MENCS Race at Dover Dover International Speedway
Oct. 13 2:00 p.m. 500 Talladega Superspeedway
Oct. 20 2:30 p.m. Hollywood Casino 400 Kansas Speedway
Round of 8
Oct. 27 3:00 p.m. First Data 500 Martinsville Speedway
Nov. 3 3:00 p.m. AAA Texas 500 Texas Motor Speedway
Nov. 10 2:30 p.m. Bluegreen Vacations 500 ISM Raceway 
Championship 4 
Nov. 17  3:00 p.m. Ford EcoBoost 400 Homestead-Miami Speedway