NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series Playoff Field is Set

MIAMI— The road to Homestead-Miami Speedway begins this Thursday, August 15 as the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series (NGOTS) playoffs commence at Bristol Motor Speedway.


As the playoffs get underway, the battle for a championship is intensifying among the eight playoff-bound drivers. The NGOTS playoffs culminate with the Ford EcoBoost 200 championship race on Friday, November 15 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.


Reigning NGOTS champion Brett Moffitt leads the playoff field with a three-point advantage over regular season champion Grant Enfinger.


Ross Chastain, who hails from Alva on Florida’s west coast, is making his NGOTS playoff debut. The Fort Myers native made waves earlier this season when he decided to change his schedule and make a run at the NGOTS championship after previously competing to make the NASCAR Xfinity Series playoffs. Chastain leads full-time NGOTS drivers with three wins and 305 laps led this season.


The following is the list of playoff-eligible drivers who will compete for the NGOTS championship.


 Driver Points Team Manufacturer
Brett Moffitt 2,022 GMS Racing Chevrolet

Grant Enfinger

2,019  ThorSport Racing  Ford 
Stewart Friesen 2,014  Halmar Friesen Racing  Chevrolet 
Austin Hill 2,012  Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota
Ross Chastain  2,012  Niece Motorsports  Chevrolet 
Matt Crafton 2,011  ThorSport Racing  Ford 
Johnny Sauter 2,009  ThorSport Racing  Ford 
Tyler Ankrum 2,005  DGR-Crosley  Toyota 


The following is the complete schedule for the Truck series playoffs. Although every race will feature a full field of trucks, two drivers will be eliminated from championship contention following the races at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and ISM Raceway.


Round of 8
Aug. 15 8:30 p.m.  UNOH 200  Bristol Motor Speedway 
Aug. 25 2:30 p.m. Chevrolet Silverado 250  Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
Sep. 13   9:00 p.m. World of Westgate 200 Las Vegas Motor Speedway
Round of 6
Oct. 12 1:30 p.m. Sugarlands Shine 250 Talladega Superspeedway
Oct. 26  1:30 p.m. NGOTS Race at Martinsville Martinsville Speedway
Nov. 8  8:30 p.m. Lucas Oil 150 ISM Raceway
 Championship 4
Nov. 15 8:00 p.m. Ford EcoBoost 200 Homestead-Miami Speedway

About Homestead-Miami Speedway

Homestead-Miami Speedway has been open since 1995 following an initiative to spur economic recovery in the aftermath of Hurricane Andrew. The Speedway, which was founded by Miami businessman, racing enthusiast and philanthropist Ralph Sanchez, is a 650-acre facility that features a 1.5-mile oval and 2.21-mile road course. The Speedway hosts on-track events nearly 300 days per year and generates more than $301 million annually for the region. In 2018, NASCAR crowned champions in all three of its national series at Homestead-Miami Speedway during Ford Championship Weekend for the 17th consecutive year (2002-18). Champions crowned at Homestead-Miami Speedway in 2018 were Joey Logano (Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series), Tyler Reddick (NASCAR XFINITY Series) and Brett Moffitt (NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series). 2019 Ford Championship Weekend will be held November 15-17. In 2020, the Speedway will commemorate its 25th anniversary as it hosts NASCAR’s three national series in the spring.