MIAMI – Several hundred riders will be competing in the Championship Cup Series of Florida (CCS) motorcycle racing season opener this coming weekend, February 13-14, at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Boca Raton native Stefano Mesa, the Overall Expert champion each of the past two years, and 2015 Amateur Overall champion Mark Rhoades (Itasca, Ill.) will highlight the field of entries, which includes competitors from both North and South America.

Gates open on Saturday at 8:00 a.m., with practice and time trials running from 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Gates will open on Sunday at 7:00 a.m., with practice running from 8:00 – 9:00 a.m., and races beginning at 9:30 a.m. General admission includes a Paddock Pass, allowing fans into the infield for $15 on Saturday, and $20 on Sunday. Two-day passes are $30, with children 12 years and younger admitted for free. In addition, there will be an awards ceremony in the Riders Meeting Room on Saturday at 5 p.m., which is open to public, free of charge.  Parking is free all weekend.  

For more information, during the week call (561) 793-3394, and (305) 230-5278 during race days. Directions: from North, take the Florida’s Turnpike south to Exit 6/Ralph Sánchez Speedway Blvd./SW 137th Ave.; left 5 miles to SW 344th St.; left to Gate 18/infield tunnel. From South: U.S. 1 north to Palm Dr.; go right four miles to Homestead-Miami Speedway; follow signs to Gate 18/infield tunnel.

About Homestead-Miami Speedway

The Speedway has been open since 1995 following an initiative to spur economic recovery in the aftermath of Hurricane Andrew. Celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2015, the 650-acre facility is active nearly 300 days per year, and features a 1.5-mile oval and 2.21-mile road course. The track generates more than $301 million annually for the region. NASCAR has crowned its champions in all three of its premier series at Homestead-Miami Speedway for the 14th consecutive year this November at Ford Championship Weekend. Champions crowned at Homestead-Miami Speedway this year consisted of Kyle Busch (Sprint Cup Series), Chris Buescher (XFINITY Series) and Erik Jones (Camping World Truck Series). The 2016 Ford Championship Weekend will be held November 18-20, 2016.