Smoke Wins 2012 ‘Best Driver’ ESPY Award

Danica Espys

NASCAR star Danica Patrick walks onstage during the 2012 ESPY Awards to present the 'Best Team' award to the Miami Heat. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

Tony Stewart, three-time and reigning NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champ, last night took home the 2012 ESPY for “Best Driver” at the 20th annual ESPY Awards on ESPN, beating out four-time IZOD IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti, F1 champion Sebastian Vettel and NHRA champion Del Worsham.


Stewart put together an epic Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup in what proved to be one of the most exciting seasons in NASCAR history last year. Stewart won five of the 10 races in the Chase, narrowly edging out Carl Edwards in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway to take home the title.


“I am thrilled to win the ‘Best Driver’ award after what turned out to be a great NASCAR season last year. I was fortunate enough to be able to take the checkered flag when it mattered most,” said Stewart. “There were some great drivers and great champions in this category, so I cannot thank the NASCAR fans and everyone who voted enough for their unbelievable support.”


It is the third time Stewart has taken home “Best Driver” honors, winning in 2003 and 2006. Stewart was also nominated in the “Best Championship Performance” category this year.


“I want to congratulate Tony on winning the ESPY for ‘Best Driver’ last night,” said NASCAR Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer Steve Phelps. “His dramatic run to the championship highlighted his overall performance on the track last season, and we’re thrilled the sports world recognized this achievement. Hats off to Tony Stewart and the entire Stewart-Haas Racing organization.”


Jimmie Johnson, who was a presenter for the “Best Comeback Athlete” award during last night’s show, won the “Best Driver” award in each of the four previous seasons.


NASCAR Nationwide Series star Danica Patrick also presented the “Best Team” award along with Steve Nash at last night’s show to the Miami Heat. She teamed up with Justin Bieber to present the “Best Team” award at last year’s ESPYs to the Dallas Mavericks.


Be sure to tune in and watch the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in the LENOX Industrial Tools 301 live from New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Sunday, July 15 at 1 p.m. ET on TNT.

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Left Arrow
Right Arrow
  • Amkus logo
  • Baptist logo
  • Coke logo
  • Contender logo
  • Courtyard Marriott
  • imperial dade sponsor slider logo
  • Epic Hotel logo
  • FanVision logo
  • Ford logo
  • Gatorade logo
  • GEN Travel Solutions
  • Goodyear
  • Hampton Inn and Suites
  • Holiday Inn Express logo
  • Hotel Indigo
  • Hyatt Place
  • Key Largo logo
  • Miami International Airport logo
  • New Holland
  • NextEra
  • Quality Inn
  • Rabbit Coffee
  • Safety Kleen
  • Shulas
  • Sunoco
  • Tobacco Free Florida
  • trugreen logo
  • Visit Florida
  • We Can Do Print
You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035

© 2019 Homestead Miami Speedway


ISC Track Sites