IndyCar "Triple Crown" Adds Spice to Oct. 2 Miami Championship

Will Power leads the road championship over Helio Castroneves and Ryan Hunter-Reay

Will Power (center) leads the road Championship over South Florida residents Helio Castroneves and Ryan Hunter-Reay (right). Photo courtesy: Robert Laberge, Getty Images Sport


The Indy Racing League announced today plans to institute oval and road title contests within the overall 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series driver championship this season which will culminate at Homestead-Miami Speedway Oct. 1-2.  With the announcement of an open-wheel racing "Triple Crown," the IndyCar Series could be headed for a phenomenal 2010 finish Oct. 2 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. (For ticket information, stay tuned to or call (866) 409-RACE.)

Using the current championship points system, the highest-scoring oval and road/street drivers will be crowned champions of their respective racing discipline.  The road title will culminate on Aug. 22 at Infineon Raceway, while the oval contest will conclude Sept 19 at Twin Ring Motegi. The Oct. 2 Championship finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway will be reserved to honor the overall IZOD IndyCar Series champion.

Drivers will compete for bonuses presented to both category champions, with the purse to be announced at a later date.

“The IZOD IndyCar Series offers one of the most challenging and diverse schedules in all of motorsports,” said Randy Bernard, chief executive officer of the Indy Racing League. “We want to recognize the drivers that master the disciplines that make up this sport as they pursue the ultimate prize – the IZOD IndyCar Series championship.  We feel this platform will give added value to key events on our schedule and create more momentum behind the drivers and teams that excel on at ovals and road races.”

Fans will have an opportunity to select the name of the trophies awarded to both the oval and road champion, which will honor legends of the sport. Media representatives will be asked to nominate the greatest oval and road racers of all time.  From those nominations, the top-five nominees from each discipline will be posted to a fan vote at in late May through early June. The league will work with the legends to secure the rights to names for the trophies. The oval trophy honoree will be announced during the IZOD IndyCar Series event weekend at Texas Motor Speedway while the road trophy honoree will be revealed at Watkins Glen International.
“The sport of Indy car racing has such a long and storied legacy of so many accomplished legends that we feel this is a great way to honor their accomplishments,” said Bernard.  “Many of our current drivers admire these legends so why not have them vie for a trophy named in honor of the drivers they strive to emulate.”

There are nine road/street races on the 2010 schedule that will constitute the road championship, with scoring retroactively starting at the beginning of the season. Through the first four road/street events – Brazil, St. Petersburg, Barber Motorsports Park and Long Beach – Will Power leads the road championship over South Florida residents Helio Castroneves and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Races remaining include Watkins Glen International (July 4), streets of Toronto (July 18), Edmonton City Centre Airport (July 25), Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (Aug. 8) and Infineon Raceway (Aug. 22).

The equally challenging and competitive package of races eligible for the oval championship kick off May 1 with the Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 at the 1.5-mile, variably-banked Kansas Speedway. Succeeding oval races will be held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (May 30), Texas Motor Speedway (June 5), Iowa Speedway (June 20), Chicagoland Speedway (Aug. 28), Kentucky Speedway (Sept. 4) and Twin Ring Motegi (Sept. 19).

Power, Castroneves, Hunter-Reay and the rest of the IndyCar field will resume the pursuit for fall glory in Miami on Sunday, May 1, in Race 5 at Kansas Speedway (1:30 p.m. EST on ABC, IMS Radio Network, XM Ch. 145 and Sirius Ch. 211). Both the IZOD IndyCar and Firestone Indy Lights Series Championships will culminate at Homestead-Miami Speedway the weekend of Oct. 1-2. For ticket information, stay tuned to or call toll free (866) 409-RACE.

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Left Arrow
Right Arrow
  • Amkus logo
  • Baptist logo
  • Coke logo
  • Contender logo
  • Courtyard Marriott
  • imperial dade sponsor slider logo
  • Epic Hotel logo
  • FanVision logo
  • Ford logo
  • Gatorade logo
  • GEN Travel Solutions
  • Goodyear
  • Hampton Inn and Suites
  • Holiday Inn Express logo
  • Hotel Indigo
  • Hyatt Place
  • Key Largo logo
  • Miami International Airport logo
  • New Holland
  • NextEra
  • Quality Inn
  • Rabbit Coffee
  • Safety Kleen
  • Shulas
  • Sunoco
  • Tobacco Free Florida
  • trugreen logo
  • Visit Florida
  • We Can Do Print
You may unsubscribe at any time.
Homestead-Miami Speedway
One Ralph Sanchez Speedway Blvd
Homestead, FL 33035

© 2020 Homestead Miami Speedway


ISC Track Sites