Once Again in 2010: Homestead-Miami to Host IndyCar Championship

MIAMI—Homestead-Miami Speedway is making motorsports history this fall as the first venue ever to host all of North America’s premier motorsports championships: IndyCar, NASCAR and the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series. And it’ll be even more Championship flavor in 2010, as the IndyCar Series today announced that Homestead-Miami Speedway will again host the IndyCar Championship on Oct. 2, 2010.

“To have the IndyCar Series crown Champions in Miami back-to-back years is a testament to the position South Florida has claimed on the motorsports landscape,” said Homestead-Miami Speedway PresidentCurtis Gray. “The IndyCar Series drivers, team owners and officials clearly appreciate the competition, fan support and overall Championship aura they experience when they come to Homestead-Miami Speedway.
“As host to NASCAR’s Ford Championship Weekend since 2002 and now IndyCar in back-to-back years, South Florida is the only place in America to annually host the Championship of any major sport in consecutive years — including the Super Bowl, Stanley Cup Finals, NBA Finals and World Series. This is another remarkable day for all of South Florida.”

Homestead-Miami Speedway shares a rich partnership with the IndyCar Series, having hosted the seasonopener for seven consecutive years (2002-2008), as well as the annual “Spring Training” Open Testing in February. Sparks again will fly this Oct. 10, as IndyCar’s brightest stars take to the 18-20 degree variable banking to decide the 2009 Champion. And with history as indication, race fans can expect very compelling action, as IndyCar’s Championship has come down to the final race lap each of the last three seasons:

2008: Miami resident Helio Castroneves trailed points leader Scott Dixon by 30 points heading into the
season finale at Chicagoland. Castroneves stormed all the way from the 28th starting position to beat Dixon
to the checkered flag by .0033 seconds but fell just short as Dixon narrowly claimed the Championship.
2007: Dario Franchitti passed Dixon in Turn 4 on the last lap at Chicagoland to claim the race and the crown.
2006: Heading into the Championship in Chicago, Castroneves led the points, followed by Sam Hornish Jr.
(one point back) and Dan Wheldon (18 back). Wheldon won the finale, Hornish finished third and
Castroneves fourth, resulting in a Championship standings tie between Wheldon and Hornish, who was
awarded the IndyCar title based on the strength of race victories (four to two).

“The competition IndyCar has produced on the track in recent years is unquestionably among the best ever in motorsports,” said Gray. “What a stellar opportunity it is for Homestead-Miami and South Florida to host more of the same both this fall and in 2010, as we continue South Florida’s Championship sports legacy. We can’t wait to kick off Six Championships Inside of Six Weeks with IndyCar this Oct. 10th.”

It’s motorsports history in 2009 as Homestead-Miami Speedway becomes the first venue ever to host all of North America’s premier motorsports championships: the IndyCar, Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car and Firestone Indy Lights Series during the NextEra Energy Resources SpeedJam Championships Oct. 9-10; and NASCAR’s Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series during Ford Championship Weekend Nov. 20-22. Tickets  for all six 2009 championships are on sale now by calling (866) 409-RACE or visiting THEChampionshipTrack.com.

Left Arrow
Right Arrow
  • Baptist Health
  • Budweiser
  • Coca-Cola
  • Contender
  • Courtyard Marriott
  • Dairy Queen
  • EPIC Hotel
  • Florida Lottery
  • Ford
  • Gatorade
  • GEN Travel Solutions
  • Goodyear
  • Hampton Inn and Suites
  • Hotel Indigo
  • New Holland
  • NextEra
  • Quality Inn
  • Safety Kleen
  • Shulas
  • Sprint
  • Sunoco
  • Ticket clinic
  • Tobacco Free Florida
  • Visit Florida
  • We Can Do Print

© 2015 Homestead Miami Speedway


ISC Track Sites